Introduction to Marvel Zombies Graphic Novels

Marvel Zombies

Marvel Zombies

Marvel Zombies first appeared as a five issue limited series than ran from December 2005 to April 2006. They were penned by Robert Kirkman of The Walking Dead fame, with illustrations by Sean Phillips and June Chung, and covers designed by Arthur Suydam.

marvel zombiesMarvel ZombiesMarvel ZombiesMarvel ZombiesMarvel Zombies
These 5 issues make up Marvel Zombies Volume 1

The premise of these stories are that our well beloved Marvel super heros become affected by a zombie virus and turn on the very humans they once protected for the flesh they crave to eat. In a break from traditional zombie types, the Marvel Zombies retain their personalities, including humour and feelings of guilt. They are self aware but united in their common aim. With the ability to flit between dimensions, they present a danger not just to earth, but to the whole universe. These are graphic novels in the true sense. The pictures can be gory, the content is aimed at adults.

The demand for more Marvel Zombies soon became clear, which quickly led to series #2, #3. #4 and #5, parrallel spin-offs and prequels. If you are new to Marvel Zombies, it can be confusing as to where to begin. Largely, it is a matter of your attitude to prequels. For example, if you start with Marvel Zombies #1, when we first venture within this Zombie universe, all we know is that an unknown superhero was brought forth from an alternate dimension by the “Hunger” and rapidly proceeded to infect the Avengers with its zombie virus. This background is fleshed out in the prequels to explain the lead up to this point and we find out the name of the mystery infected superhero. The following list is a guide line to the chronology of the Marvel Zombies. Anything before Marvel Zombies 1 can be regarded as a prequel.

The following list includes information found on Comic Vine

Marvel Zombies Chronological Order

marvel zombies vs army of darkness issues #0,#1,#2

Marvel Zombies – dead days

Marvel Zombies vs army of darkness #3, #4, #5

Marvel Zombies Evil Evolution

Ultimate Fantastic Four #21 #22 #23

Marvel Zombies volume 1

Ultimate Fantastic Four #30 #31 #32

Black Panther #28 #29 #30

Marvel Zombies volume 2

Marvel Zombes the Return

Marvel Zombies volume 3

Marvel Zombies volume 4

Deadpool – Merc with a Mouth

Marvel Zombies volume 5

Marvel Zombies Supreme

Marvel Zombies Destroy

Marvel Zombies Zomnibus

Marvel Zombies

If you want an overview of the entire Marvel Zombie Verse, then this Marvel Zombies Zomnibus edition is a sound choice. This presents the opportunity to read the Marvel Zombie stories in chronological order. However, some issues are not included in this edition, such as Marvel Zombies vs army of darkness. However other gems are included such as the collection of Arthur Suydam designed covers. This would make a great gift for somebody who wants a “best of Marvel Zombies Collection”.

Find out more about Marvel Zombies Zomnibus Edition

Marvel Zombie Complete Collection 1

Marvel Zombies

If you want to start at the beginning and work your way through the entire Marvel Zombies Collection, then the following three collections are ideal. The complete collection 1 gives a great introduction for those new to the Zombie Universe. The contents of the Marvel Zombies Collection 1 consists of Ultimate Fantastic Four #21 #22 #23, #30 #31 #32; Marvel Zomb ies 1 2 3 4 5; Marvel Zombies: Dead Days 1; Black Panther (2005) #28 #29 #30; material from Marvel Spotlight: Marvel Zombies.

Find out more about Marvel Zombies Collection 1

Marvel Zombie Complete Collection 2

complete collection series 2 150x225

The Marvel Zombies have left Earth, turning their ravenous attentions to outer space. Dimension-traveling zombies have found their way into the Marvel Universe, and no one is safe All this, and their is a traitor in their midst as well. The contents of the Marvel Zombies Collection 2 consists of Marvel Zombies 2 #1 #2 #3 #4 #5, Marvel Zombies 3 #1 #2 #3 #4, Marvel Zombies 4 #1 #2 #3 #4, Marvel Zombies Return #1 #2 #3 #4 #5, plus material from Marvel Spotlight : Marvel Zombie s Return

MArvel Zombie Complete Collection 3

Marvel Zombies

The original Marvel Zombies invade the dimension of the Marvel Apes. In order to uncover an antidote to the zombie plague, Machine Man and Howard the Duck set out across the multiverse, battling zombies in the Wild West, Camelot, a future megacity, during a Martian invasion, on a world suspiciously similar to earth. The contents of the Marvel Zombies Collection 3 consists of Marvel Apes: Prime Eight 1, Marvel Zombies: Evil Evolution 1, Marvel Zombies 5 #1 #2 #3 #4 #5, Marvel Zombies Supreme #1 #2 #3 #4 #5, Marvel Zombies Destroy #1 #2 #3 #4 #5, Marvel Zombies Halloween 1

Written by ZombiePit

Let us know what you think

Your email address will not be published.